Groups Views: Save Group Lists

Group Views allow you to create a saved list of groups based on what you define to be used throughout your ChMS and can be shared with multiple users. By default, Group Views are user-specific but can be favorited for easy access. 

Video Overview:

This video overview may include some out-of-date images. We appreciate your patience as we work to get these videos updated.

 

Ideas for use:

  • Identify the most common reports you run and create a Group View for each
  • Log in as a team member (full Admin permissions only) and favorite a group view for their use
  • Save a list of groups who you commonly mass contact

For example, if you’re tracking giving trends by age group and campus, create a Group View that contains both your desired age groups and campus group. In Reports → Giving, navigate to any Group button filter, and you’ll then be able to select your Group View as a filter option.

Enable Group View

Turning on Group Views is as simple as a checkbox. Under General Settings  → Groups → check the box for Use Group Views.

Enable Group Views setting location

Make sure to click SAVE to complete adding the feature.

Creating a Group View

Views setup location

In the sidebar menu, navigate to Groups → Views, and click on Add View. Add a brief but descriptive title, then select the Properties, Aggregates, or Groups that should be included in your view. By default, Group Views are visible within just your profile. If helpful to your team, select “Share View” so your view is visible for team members.

Pro-Tip: Share Group Views with discretion to avoid list ‘bloat.’

Use Group Views

Once your Views are setup, they will show on the right side of Groups → List. The filter tool can be minimized or expanded to move it out of the way if needed.

Group View filter options

Group Views can also be found in many reports under the Group filter button.

Filter Reports with Group Views

Permissions

Important Note: If a user does not have permission to view a certain group, that group will not appear within the Group View for that user.

Under Settings → Permissions, you can select if a given role can view, add/edit, share, or manage group views. Permissions to "Manage" Group Views provide the ability to view/edit/add/delete Group Views other than your own.

 

Updated

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request