Profile Visibility gives churches and the people they serve control over specific pieces of personal information. This added flexibility allows for information like a personal phone number (for example) to be available to church staff members but is not in the online Directory.
Important These settings apply ONLY to online access (browser/mobile app). Printing a directory does not follow these same permission preferences.
How to Access Profile Visibility Settings
On an individual's Profile Record, access Profile Visibility settings by clicking the tri-dot on the Picture/Name card.
What They Do
For each item of personal information, Visibility can be set to one of four levels. The settings move from MOST visible on the right to LEAST visible on the left.
- Directory → No Visibility restrictions based on allowed Directory information. This is determined by the Global Permissions area. The beginning of the slider always displays, even if Directory is not enabled or the person is not in the Directory group.
- Group Members →
- Not visible to users who have access to the member record through the Directory.
- Still visible to users who have access through any permissions role or as a leader or in a Group with "View Other Members" * enabled.
- Group Leaders →
- Not visible to users who have access to the member record through the Directory or in a Group with "View Other Members" * enabled.
- Still visible to users who have access through any permissions role or as a leader of a "View Other Members" * enabled group.
- None (unlabeled) → not visible to anyone except those with access to the record through a standard Permissions role.
- Not visible to users who have access to the record through the Directory, as a member or leader of a Group with "View Other Members" * turned on, or through a permissions Leader Role.
- Still visible to users who have access through a standard permissions role.
As text with the settings indicates, Visibility settings do not affect any user with Add/Edit access to a record.
* View Other Members Setting
Note: Viewing other members is set on a Group by Group basis for customized contact lists individuals can access. This is especially helpful for small groups and teams that want members to be able to communicate with each other and access personal contact information that may be restricted in the main Directory.
Who Can Access Visibility Settings
Visibility settings can be changed by any user with Add/Edit access to a record with a Role or Leader Role.
Editing this information can be adjusted by the individual if the Global permission is enabled for updating their own record.
Changes to Visibility settings are saved and applied immediately. They are not affected by the "Propose Changes" process.